RSS Feed

Pumpkin Muffins

img_1326

Because I adore pumpkin recipes for fall, I wondered if I could modify my award-winning applesauce muffins (August 2016 archives) by substituting canned pumpkin. Yes! Here is my updated recipe:

Cream together: 1/2 cup softened butter + 1 cup sugar.
Mix in: 1 egg.
Sift together: 2 cups unbleached flour + 2 tsp baking powder + 1/2 tsp baking soda + 1+1/2 tsp ground cinnamon + 1 tsp ground nutmeg + 1/4 tsp ground cloves.
Measure into measuring cup: 1 cup canned pumpkin.
Alternately add and mix flour mixture and pumpkin into creamed mixture, beginning and finishing with dry mixture.
Measure into glass measuring cup: 1 cup dried raisins (I’ve been favoring golden raisins). Pour boiling water over raisins and let fruit soak to plump. Strain plumped raisins and fold into muffin batter.

Scoop muffin batter into cupcake tin lined with cupcake papers. (Pampered Chef large scoop or an ice cream scoop is a perfect size for portioning muffin batter.) Bake @ 375* 20-25 minutes, until muffins are lightly browned on top and the toothpick test comes out clean.
Remove individual muffins to wire rack to cool.

Note: I had only a dozen cupcake papers, and the recipe makes 15-18 muffins, so I portioned the extra batter into mini cupcake papers. (Pampered Chef mini scoop is the perfect size for portioning mini muffins.) I don’t have mini cupcake tins (Santa, baby…), so I stood the cupcake papers in a pie dish to fill and bake them. Bake mini muffins 15-18 minutes, until muffins are set on top. Super cute for quick breakfast or little snacks!

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

Please leave a reply.

