RSS Feed

Lanie’s Garden Green Goddess Dressing

I have been enjoying hosting luncheons for girlfriends in my new home. We find it’s more relaxed, healthier and more cost-effective than meeting at a restaurant. Homemade green goddess dressing, blended with fresh herbs from my urban patch of garden, has emerged as a new specialty. Since Greek yogurt has become a staple in my ‘fridge, my salad dressing recipe has evolved since last time I posted it. This is my updated recipe:

In food processor, blend until creamy green:
1/2 cup mayo
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1 oz fresh basil, rinsed and patted dry (I loosely fill a regular-sized colander when I go to the back yard to pick basil, and that weighs in at 1 oz when I check it on the kitchen scale. Fresh basil at the market tends to be packaged in 1 oz containers.)
1/2 cup fresh parsley, rinsed and patted dry
2-3 scallions, whites + greens, sliced (I’ve substituted 1 large shallot, sliced.)
1-2 cloves garlic, smashed + chopped
2 anchovy filets, chopped (You can skip the anchovies, but this is the secret ingredient which gives a big impact in the dressing.)
1 lemon, juiced
1/4 – 1/2 tsp kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper

Especially tasty on a BLT salad (February 2015 archives), spinach salad with cucumbers & berries & feta or even on fresh watermelon.

 

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

2 responses »

  1. Marla Williams

    Great recipe, tried it last night, it was a hit.

    Reply

Please leave a reply.

