RSS Feed

Ohio Snowballs

IMG_0917

While I’ve been home with painters in the house today, I did some Christmas baking. I hope my long-time followers don’t mind I’m re-posting my recipe for Ohio Snowballs (January 2014 archives):

Today is the Epiphany, the 12th Day of Christmas, the day the three wise men reportedly arrived to honor the baby Jesus. It’s also the time of year that, back when I lived in the north, I would be totally tired of the snow. Because it was cold, and the snow, which was beautiful white when it fell and clung to bare tree branches, would be dirty and slushy from cars driving over it and snowplows pushing it to the edges of the yards.

This season a Christmas cookie recipe which I created became known as my specialty. These cookies are traditionally called Russian tea cakes or snowballs. I favor any baked goodie with real butter and almond! In honor of the dirty, slushy snow, I add chocolate chips to these cookies so the melty chocolate smears through the white powdered sugar. Voila! Ohio snowballs!

This is my creation:

Set out 1 cup butter to soften.
Preheat oven to 400*.

Cream together: 1 cup softened butter + 1/2 cup sugar + 1/2 tsp vanilla + 1/2 tsp almond extract.
Sift together: 2 1/4 cups flour + 1/4 tsp salt.
Gradually beat flour mixture into creamed mixture.
Stir in: 3/4 cup finely chopped pecan pieces.
Then stir in: 1/4 cup Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate chips.

IMG_0916

Shape dough into 1-inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake 10-12 minutes, until cookies are set and just barely brown.
Immediately roll cookies in powdered sugar. Cool completely on wire rack.
Re-roll cookies in a second coating of powdered sugar.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

Please leave a reply.

