RSS Feed

Can’t Beet Hummus

IMG_1305

One of my friends/followers, whom I visit with in person, commented on my hummus recipe to try adding beet. While she was excited about the deep pink color – and I am too! – I am sold on the additional nutritional value. I made a few batches for friends to taste test as I worked on getting the right thicky dippy consistency. So, I’ve previously posted my basic hummus recipe, and here’s my beet variation:

In food processor, blend until creamy:
2 cans chick peas (garbanzo beans), drained
1 small beet, scrubbed + ends trimmed off + chopped into chick pea-size pieces
2 blobs (soup spoonfuls) tahini paste
2-3 cloves garlic, grated
Juice from 2 lemons
2 Tbs olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp paprika

Serve with warm, salted pita chips or crudites.
This makes a double batch, so package some to give to friends.

Unpaid ad, but FYI: My dental hygienist and dentist are impressed by my results from HEB Whitening Pre-Brush Mouth Rinse. Beets, garlic… I’m just sayin’.

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

Please leave a reply.

