RSS Feed

Lanie’s Pimiento Cheese

I had never heard of pimiento cheese until I lived in Memphis – it’s a southern thing. A friend wanted to buy a pimento cheese sandwich at the gas station convenience store, so that was a disgusting introduction, imo. I was re-introduced to this southern spread by my father-in-law who buys a certain pricey brand. And then one of my colleagues brought her famous dill pimiento cheese spread to an office pot luck, and I was inspired that I too could make homemade pimiento cheese. I tweek my friend’s recipe to make it my own by mashing softened cream cheese with the mayo for a little tang, and I serve my pimiento cheese spread on mini Hawaiian rolls. This is my recipe:

16 oz (1 lb) sharp cheddar cheese block, shredded
1-2 oz cream cheese, softened
Real mayo
4 oz jar pimientos, strained and chopped
1-2 Tbs fresh dill, chopped
1/2-1 tsp Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning
Finely ground black pepper
Package mini Hawaiian rolls

Start straining the pimientos so they will be well-strained. Shred the cheddar with a cheese grater. Mash together equal parts cream cheese and mayo to achieve a consistency which will mix into the shredded cheese. Add the cream cheese mixture to the shredded cheese; add the chopped pimientos and mix; add the chopped dill and mix; add seasonings and mix. Add more mayo to taste to achieve desired consistency.

Notes: If time permits, make the day before so the flavors may get acquainted; pimiento cheese is even better the next day. Serve on mini Hawaiian rolls or with Wheat Thins.

 

 

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

Please leave a reply.

