RSS Feed

Lanie’s German Potato Salad

Over the weekend Hubby & I hosted a dinner party to celebrate a friend’s achievement of an important milestone in his career. We served many of our friend’s favorites, and because he has German roots, I wanted to make German potato salad. I referred to my Mom’s recipe and also googled to develop my own variation.  My girlfriend affirmed that my dish tasted like the German potato salad her husband’s mom and grandma make, so I think it was a hit, and the next-day leftovers were even better. This is my recipe:

3 lbs red potatoes
8 slices bacon
1-2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
3/4 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup canola oil
1 Tbs Grey Poupon mustard
kosher salt & finely ground pepper
5 scallions, thinly sliced
1/8 cup fresh parsley, chopped

Scrub and cube potatoes; boil in salted water until fork tender; strain cooked potatoes in colander; return potatoes to pot and cover to keep warm.
Chop and cook bacon; remove cooked bacon pieces to paper towel; pour off most bacon grease but save some in the pan to make dressing.
Add garlic to pan; saute for about 30 seconds. De-glaze pan with vinegar; whisk in oil + mustard.
Pour vinegar mixture over potatoes; toss lightly. Season with salt & pepper to taste. Add scallions + parley; toss lightly.
Serve warm.

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

Please leave a reply.

