RSS Feed

Open House Tomato Bouillon

Last evening some neighbors & I hosted National Night Out at their humongous, perfect-for-entertaining home which Martha Turner Properties & I have listed for sale (May 2013 archives). One of the items we served was Open House Tomato Bouillon which I named the first time I served it at an open house and it was a hit. Prior to that it was known as Mom’s Tomato Bouillon because I got the recipe from Mom and I thought it was a family recipe which came from my Grandpa’s childhood.  It turns out I completely made up that history and the recipe really came from a family friend in my hometown. Mom tells that she & her friend made the soup together for an inexpensive lunch which was served at an annual church bazaar. I might still not have the history right, but I know the bouillon is enjoyed for whatever occasion it is served. Both the story and the recipe have evolved, and this is my recipe:

Crush in bottom of soup pot: 6 beef bouillon cubes.
Add: 6 cups water; heat and stir to dissolve bouillon cubes; reduce heat to low.
Add and stir: 64 oz can spicy vegetable juice + 2 Tbs Worcestershire sauce + juice of 1 small lemon.

Serve in a mug with a thin lemon slice floating on top. Easy to serve and enjoy at parties because no need for a spoon.

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

Please leave a reply.

