RSS Feed

Sweet Smoky Chicken Salad

Over the weekend I had leftover smoked chicken and a craving for chicken salad, but no grapes or crushed pineapple to add a sweet crunch. I wondered about chopping strawberries to add sweet to the smoky chicken. This is my recipe:

Finely chop: 1 scallion + celery + 1 jumbo strawberry.
Add: Smoked or BBQ chicken breast, chopped.
Sprinkle chicken with seasoning: Lawry’s season salt + fresh ground pepper + dill weed. Also paprika if the chicken needs more savory flavor.
Mix in: Miracle Whip to taste. (I use a forkful and use the fork to toss the chicken salad mixture. I suppose there’s an argument for Hellmann’s if you prefer mayo, but I like the “tangy zip” with my chicken salad.)
Add: chopped walnuts.
Serve on thinly sliced white bakery bread with crisp green or red leaf lettuce and more fresh strawberries on the side.

About Lanie Brown, Texas real estate broker

Hi, my name is Lanie Brown. Like to write, cook, bake, decorate and redecorate, celebrate, work real estate. Strive to be a Godly wife, good neighbor, giving friend. Texas Hill Country is my promised land! #sagelanereal

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Left-over Chicken Salad | Dishing it out with Clarissa

  2. pinkbrickhome

    Clarissa, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Please leave a reply.

